Throwing it back to the NICU

In honor of “Throw Back Thursday”, I’m throwing it back to when Jayden was in the NICU. Jayden became growth resistant when he was inside of me. He went from being in the 40th percentile to the 12th percentile over the course of a couple months. That is not suppose to happen.

When I was 34 weeks pregnant, I was told that I would be having a C-section (he was also breech) in two weeks. What a surprise! He would be born at 36 weeks and 6 days. Those two weeks were so scary for me. I know that he would be pretty much a full term baby, but I didn’t know what came with Jayden being growth resistant. Does that mean his organs are stunted along with everything else? Will he go to the NICU? I had a friend who had a baby in the NICU for 6 weeks! I remember how difficult it was for her and her husband during that time.

CSectionAt first he was totally fine, but when I tried to feed him he started crying uncontrollably. He also turned a grayish color. The lactation consultant took him to the NICU and that’s where he stayed for 20 days. Jayden had undeveloped lungs. Apparently that is common in white baby boys. Honestly, the fact that he was sent to the NICU wasn’t the hard part for me. In my mind, he was already sent there before I had him. The hardest part was the set backs. Jayden would be on a nasal cannula in the morning, off of it in the afternoon, and have it back on by nighttime. I guess I never thought that if he made forward progress, he could also take steps backwards. I remember being there for a scary episode. I was feeding Jayden a bottle and his oxygen level kept decreasing. The nurse had to take him and give him bursts of extra oxygen. After 20 days, we were able to take him home.

Jayden NICU

I learned a lot having a baby in the NICU.

1. I learned that NICU nurses are incredible people. Not only did they save my baby’s life, they were my counselors (I can’t type this without crying). There was one in particular, Jill, who was there the majority of the time with me. She sat with me and just talked. She answered all of my NICU questions and chatted about non-NICU things to get my mind off of it. I’m so thankful for such an amazing woman.

2. I learned that once a NICU mom, always a NICU mom. Once the word got out that Jayden was in the NICU, I had friends that had NICU babies who I hadn’t talked to in years contact me to see if there was anything they could do to help. They offered a lot of support from being someone to talk to all the way to offering Josh and I a place to stay closer to the hospital. NICU moms have formed a community of support. I hope to be that person to another NICU mom someday.

What a crazy experience! It was one of the most difficult times in my life, but a time where I can say that I have grown the most. The NICU couldn’t hold this guy down!

Jayden

Leave a Reply

