Book #2 and what it taught me

If you don’t already know, my goal is to read fifteen books this year. Two books down, thirteen to go!

Book #2 was Wild by Cheryl Strayed

Wild

I really liked the book. It’s about this girl, Cheryl, and her journey in hiking the Pacific Crest Trail. It took me a little while to get into the book, but I think that is because I started it right after I had Jayden and it was hard to be committed to reading at that time.

Cheryl is an inspiration to me in a way. She committed to a challenge and followed through. There are lots of dreams in our lives that we want to achieve, but don’t think we can ever actually do. We can’t say no to a dream before we actually try to achieve it.

“You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.” Wayne Gretzky

I think about everything I did in college. I walked onto the number two competitive cheerleading team in the nation at the time and became a three-time National Champion. I would never do that now. I put myself out there a lot to make new friends. I don’t do that as much anymore. I moved to Austin after only ever visiting one time. Probably won’t do that again. What has changed? Why don’t I take as much risk?

What are some ways you can challenge yourself this year?

Leave a Reply

