I Need A Bedtime

I say everyday that I want to go to bed early. How come I can’t get in bed until after 11? Everything could be going right as planned and I still will find something to do and lose track of time until late. There is always a show to watch, always more of a book to read, always people to read about on Facebook. How do I stop? How do I just turn off the TV and go to bed? I need self-control!

Maybe it’s because my daughter goes to bed so late. I feel like I’m stuck between a rock and a hard place. Mackenzie isn’t ready to drop her nap. If she went napless, she would be tired by six o’clock and that is way too early. I try to put her down for a nap at one, but she isn’t tired yet. She plays for awhile and sometimes doesn’t fall asleep until 2:30 or sometimes even three o’clock. Then she can sleep for three hours which sets her bedtime back. She isn’t ready to give up a nap yet (I’m not ready for her to give up her nap), but I think I need her to go to bed earlier. What do I do?

I use to judge parents that put their kids to bed at 7:30 until I realized how nice it would be for me. Josh and I would get so much more alone time. I would be able to watch TV or read at night without it getting super late. I could sleep more! That sounds nice!

Any advice?

Leave a Reply

