Why don’t I follow through with dreams?

Dreaming is so hard for me. I try and start to dream and then my mind automatically switches to logical mode. Kari, did you think about timing? What about finances? What about family? Following through with dreams is hard!

Where is the point where you follow through with your dreams no matter what? At what point is the risk better than not trying? I know Wayne Gretzky’s quote, “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.” It also probably depends on the dream. Like, there is probably no chance that I would become the President of the United States. That dream would be ridiculous for me.

This post is going to be all over the place. Just to warn you, I have had a TON on my mind recently. Last night some friends and I were talking about Abraham in the Bible and how him and his wife were super old and weren’t able to have a baby. God told Abraham that Abraham would be the father of many nations. What? That just sounds crazy. Then it happened! A lot happened in between, but Abraham got to have many descendants. Probably not in the way he expected, but it happened. It happened through trusting in God and his promises.

Anyways, all that to say, I want to be like a Jamie Ivey, Jen Hatmaker, Jennie Allen, or really any of the women in that group. They are so awesome! They are making a huge impact on women. Each one of them is so unique and so passionate about what they do. They all work as a team too. They all contribute in some way to the IF:Gathering and live as an example of Jesus. How cool would it be to be a part of something like that? To have such a significant impact. I want to take risks as I trust God to guide me where he wants me. Why do I get in my own way?

Leave a Reply

