Jayden’s Birthday!

Happy belated birthday, Jayden!

I’m a few days behind in posting about Jayden’s birthday. It was great! Josh was doing some work a couple hours away, but a group of really close friends wanted to make Jayden feel special on his special day anyways. I’m so thankful for friends who go out of their way to make my family feel loved. We had two of Jayden’s favorite things, pizza and cake!

IMG_2776.JPG

It’s crazy to reflect back on June 17th of last year. I was so nervous! Was Jayden going to be ok? What is the recovery going to be like for me after the c-section? What would life be like with two kids? Will Mackenzie be ok with Jayden? Lots to think about.

I showed up and got into my robe. It took a couple nurses to get my IV in because apparently my veins are difficult. Before I knew it, it was time to go into the OR. I wasn’t ready for this, but I had to do it anyways. I remember that I was freezing and the room was completely white. So many people were introducing themselves to me! My doctor came in and I calmed down a little. She is so great. I laid down and it was time. I remember I was so tired and I felt like I was falling asleep. Later I found out that my blood pressure was dropping and they were giving me epinephrine. I had to have epinephrine during the surgery and during recovery. I guess that is how I react to that kind of anesthesia. Same thing happened to me when I got my epidural with Mackenzie. Anyways, I didn’t feel a thing. My doctor told me I had great looking abs. What a compliment?! I wish you could see that from the outside! The c-section was really quick, I got to see Jayden and before I knew it the surgery was over and I was back in the recovery room.

The nurses said Jayden was great and brought him in so we could try breastfeeding. We started and Jayden would not stop crying and started to turn a gray color. That is never good! The lactation consultant told me she was going to take him to run some tests and would keep me updated. I remember hours went by and I just knew what was going on. They had taken him to the NICU. In the meantime, the nurses brought the wrong baby into our room! You only hear about that happening in the movies! Then later, a NICU nurse came in and explained everything to us. Jayden had underdeveloped lungs and he had extra fluid in them. I was told that is pretty normal in early c-section babies because they don’t go through the natural process to get the fluid out of their lungs. Also, I was told the wussy white boys are more likely to have underdeveloped lungs if they are born early. Jayden has proved he is anything but wussy!

What a crazy day!?! Look how far he has come…

IMG_2770-1

And…look at how much he looks like my dad when he was a baby…

IMG_2717

Jayden, I love you so much! You are the happiest baby ever. I’m so excited to see what God has in store for you. You are already one of a kind! I’m so proud to be your mom.

Leave a Reply

