Hello 2016

I spent yesterday reflecting on 2015. Today, I want to share my thoughts about 2016. I might be a little ambitious, but I have ten goals for this year.

Here they are…

  1. Train for the Disney Princess half marathon 2017
    I have been saying I want to run a half marathon for a couple years now. I can only run two miles at this point, but I have a whole year to train! Also, if I sign up and pay for it there is no turning back. I might have talked my sister into doing it too!
  2. Read 15 books
    This was a goal of mine last year and I failed miserably. I only read nine books. I listen to The Happy Hour with Jamie Ivey and she says “Readers are leaders” and according to that I haven’t been much of a leader recently.
  3. Develop more as a servant leader.
    Being a teacher, goals have to be measurable. Literally, about 7 girls in my small group are pregnant. This summer while I am off, I want to make myself available to make meals, watch new babies, and serve these moms as much as possible. I want to spend my summer serving others. I want my children to grow up in a home where we serve others.
  4. Introduce myself to inspirational servant leaders through reading, movies, local friendships, etc.
    “You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” Jim Rohn
    If I want to be a better servant leader, I need to surround myself with servant leaders.
  5. Start a podcast this summer.
    I have some ideas that I am REALLY excited about 🙂
  6. Pay off one of our cars.
    Having two car payments is terrible. I want to eliminate one!
  7. Start saving for a house.
    This is a pretty ambitious goal given that ideally we would be out of debt before we start this process. See the goal above…
  8. Make the next step closer towards doing foster care (making space for another child?)
    Again…see the two previous goals.
  9. Memorize a new Bible verse every other week.
  10. Read a Bible story to the kids, at least every other night.

My theme for 2016 is servant leadership. 2015 was a difficult year and I used lots of different issues as excuses to not serve others. I want this year to be different. Being a servant leader will help me be a better wife, mom, and teacher.

Just because…

12378029_10104215305565708_2329590684181689910_o.jpg

Leave a Reply

