Act Justly

“He has shown you, O mortal, what is good.
    And what does the Lord require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
    and to walk humbly with your God.”
Micah 6:8

I kind of have a secret love with Milk and Honey Tees. I haven’t bought one of the shirts, but I think they are super cute and I am about to buy one. The one I really love is:

Screen Shot 2016-02-06 at 1.44.09 PM.png

https://www.etsy.com/listing/262795158/act-justly-love-mercy-walk-humbly-micah?ref=shop_home_active_18

She sells other shirts saying “Walk Humby” and “Love Mercy”, all of which I love! I think I am going to get the one that says “Walk Humbly”, but “Act Justly” really sparks something in me right now for lots of reasons. Josh and I want to foster to adopt the rest of our children. These are children who need fairness. Some of them are in situations where it really isn’t fair. It’s not their fault that they don’t have a forever family. It isn’t their fault poor choices have been made by the ones that are supposed to protect them. I am inspired and compelled to act justly for children. That is part of the reason why I am an educator. The children now are the future of our nation and we need to raise them up to be leaders we want to be guiding our nation forward.

Another reason why my heart has been awakened is through IF:Gathering. This is an organization founded by Jennie Allen. It is for women to get together and grow in faith and character to love the world. The conference is this weekend and I have been livestreaming it today. An Indian woman spoke about her redemption story and it is entirely compelling. She is with an organization called IJM (International Justice Mission) to be in the trenches rescuing and repairing slaves. This is an outlet to act justly. The vision of IJM is so inspiring.

I want to be in the trenches acting justly, loving mercy, and walking humbly. I don’t need a shirt to do that, but I also don’t have to be in India rescuing others from slaves. As awesome as that is, I’m just not there right now. There are ways that I can act justly in the place where I live now. I teach children who don’t have the greatest home lives. They may not feel loved at home, some feel neglected, and some are taking care of siblings all night. Although I can’t control what happens when they go home from school every day, I can control the atmosphere of their experience while they are at school. I can act justly by creating an environment at school where my students feel loved by me. Trust me, it doesn’t come naturally especially when some kids require extra grace. I’m not perfect, but I can definitely try harder.

We have a lot of really disappointing things happening around the world. We may not be able to fix them directly, but we can start where we are. We can start in our own homes, or our work places, or places where we play. What can you do to act justly where you are at?

Leave a Reply

