The Diary of a First Year Teacher’s Homestretch

I can’t believe this school year is almost over! My first year of teaching is almost over. I have eight weeks. After these next eight weeks, I won’t be able to use the excuse that I’m a first-year teacher anymore. Needless to say, I got to use that a lot this year! Over the next eight weeks, I want to give you a glimpse of my world in the classroom. I was reading one of my favorite blogs, Jamie Ivey, and back in October she took a challenge to write about podcasting every day for 31 days. That is a little ambitious, so I am just going to try my best to write multiple times a week until the school year is over.

This past week was our last week to prep for my final set of FSA (Florida Standards Assessment). I feel so bad for my students because they are so over it! Luckily our last tests are this week and we can do more fun things. Report cards were due on Friday and I stayed at work until 5:45pm to get them done. I know that lots of people work until then, but I’m just saying that this girl is tired after getting up at 5:15am, dealing with 9-11 year olds on a Friday, and then stressing about grades. Grades aren’t the way they used to be. We don’t just average their scores. We have to assess the students progress throughout the quarter and give a grade based off of that (short version). Averaging scores would be so much easier!!

Anyways, we have a crazy testing schedule this week with student’s coming in and out of my room all week. I’m looking for a fun project for them to do that they can do independently. Any ideas for some fun fourth grade projects?

P.S. One of my students told me that she loves how I read out loud. She said I should become an actress and that she has never heard anyone read out loud like me. Is that good or embarassing?! Btw, we are almost done with reading A Heroes Guide to Saving the Kingdom and it is hilarious!

One thought on “The Diary of a First Year Teacher’s Homestretch

Leave a Reply

