Seriously, I Blinked…

Holy cow! How is it already Thursday night? This week definitely got away from me. It has been a decent/stressful week. I had a couple really important meetings that determine important next steps for my students. I was supposed to have one on Monday, but it got postponed until next Monday and I had one yesterday. I was REALLY nervous about yesterday’s meeting. This was a meeting looking at one of my student’s data to determine what our next step is to help her be successful. Listen to this panel of people who were at the meeting…Principal, Psychologist, Guidance Counselor, Reading Coach, Speech and Language Pathologist, and ESOL teacher. Oh, there was also a random guy in the room with a visitors badge on taking notes. I think he was observing the reading coach. All these people are expecting me to be prepared with a ton of data and observations on how my student is doing in my class, specifically in reading. Being a first-year teacher, this is crazy intimidating. What if I forgot something? What if I couldn’t answer a really important question? What if I come off as totally incapable of this task? It’s a really big deal!

But guess what?!

I ROCKED IT! I had everything I needed and was clear in my explanations. It was also not as big of a deal as I made it out to be. Yes, the highest people in the school were all in the same room asking me questions to determine this child’s future, but it wasn’t that bad. I was totally afraid of the unknown. All in all, yesterday was a pretty good day.

On the other hand, today was rough. There has been so much drama. A kid pulling a chair out from another kid and the other kid responding by pushing was just one of many things. I’m not going to go into many more details, but today put a toll on me. I’m going to need a lot of support and New Girl to make it through the next seven weeks of school! Most kids have come a really long way and I am so proud of them, but some haven’t made much improvement.

Another awesome note…four out of the five of our fourth-grade teachers have raised all of our Donors Choose goals! Our kids are going to be able to go to St. Augustine for a more reasonable price for them and I don’t think I could be more excited! Thank you to everyone who donated!

On a personal level, I just went to the doctor for the first time in like a year. With Hashimoto’s, that is not good! I can tell my thyroid is off and I am super tired from that and a combination of things. Apparently, I am a poster child for osteoporosis and because I had gestational diabetes, I have a one in three chance of getting diabetes. The doctor said I should be lifting weights and watching my carbs. Anyone have any ideas on how to do this working full time with kids? I don’t know how people do it. I seriously need some help…

P.S. I was looking for something today in Mackenzie’s closet and found a bunch of 3T clothes in boxes. I pulled them out for her and she thinks that I went clothes shopping for her. Mind you that these are clothes she wouldn’t wear last summer and now she is super excited about them. Closet shopping for the win!

Leave a Reply

