No One Knows the End

Yesterday I told you that I would explain my love for Annie Downs, the author of Looking for Lovely. Just watch:

This talk has been on my mind for the past month. First, I think she is hilarious. Last, I love her point here. We don’t know the end of our story. The point is that we need to be brave. Annie talks about how we know that the big fish pukes up Jonah, but Jonah didn’t know that. We know that the rain stops eventually while Noah is in the ark. He didn’t know that. For all he knew, the rain may never stop. “Rad”, “Shack”, and “Benny” didn’t know that God would keep them alive in the fiery furnace. Through this talk, I have been loving the verses in Daniel 3:17-18.

17 If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to deliver us from it, and he will deliver us from Your Majesty’s hand. 18 But even if he does not, we want you to know, Your Majesty, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up.”

This is after the King tells them that if they don’t bow down and worship his god, then he will throw them into the furnace. How brave and inspiring is this? They knew that whatever God chose to do in this situation that he was still God and that doesn’t change. We can’t give up just because our ending MIGHT not turn out the way we want.

I do this all the time. Well, I’m not going to hang out with that new group of people because I don’t fit in with them. Ok, I might not fit in and they might not like me, but what if they did? What if I miss out on this chance of making new friends? What if these are my new best friends? I could miss out on that opportunity by giving up and not being brave just because I don’t know what the ending of that story is. The reality is that we don’t know the end of our stories. Maybe they don’t turn out so hot, but what if they turn out WAY better than we could ever imagine? I think I want to live bravely, knowing that whatever happens that God is still God and His character is good.

I pose Annie’s question at the end of her talk:
“What does it look like for you to be brave at the life you already have, even if you don’t know the end of your story?”

One thought on “No One Knows the End

Leave a Reply

